Not Just Tofu

My Vegetarian Food Adventure

In Editorial on May 24, 2010 at 11:05 pm

I am not a vegetarian but I am married to one.  In 2002, I married my vegetarian husband of 8 years.  In the beginning, my husband came home to experimental vegetarian cuisine.   Sometimes the meals would be a success and other times he said that “it looks like dog food.”  That’s when I had to focus on vegetarian cooking. 

For the last 5 years, I have researched the resources available to cooks who want to try vegetarian dishes and found that some seem more confusing then helpful. They required a lot of ingredients you could not find in a grocery store and sometimes could not pronounce.  How do you say quinoa? Besides tofu, what else was available for me to cook with that wouldn’t taste horrible? What is textured soy protein?  Lastly, when we wanted to go out to eat; I always had to do a quick scan of the menu to see if he could eat there.   Let’s just say that we don’t go to Fridays on date night.  This lifestyle had challenged me in every way.  Where could I get some help that I could use? Then the light bulb turned on.

Why not share what I have learned about living in veggie land? No more tasteless tofu and beans.  As full-time or part-time vegetarians, we can eat delicious pasta dishes and international cuisine. I want to inspire people to cook for themself or the vegetarians in their lives using the recipes found on this blog.  I may not be a vegetarian but  like most of you I want to be healthy. I like the fact that I can share a meal with my husband and enjoy it too.

P.S. Don’t forget to check out the other pages full of helpful information that would have helped me as beginner.

Leave a Reply

