Not Just Tofu

Vegetarian Eats in Englewood, NJ

In Editorial, Restaurant Experience on June 20, 2010 at 1:58 pm

 

Asian - American Cuisine

I live in Englewood, NJ which is 15 minutes from Manhattan.  If you drive 5 minutes east of Englewood you can see the skyline.  NYC has a lot of places dedicated to vegetarian cuisine and NJ is slowly catching up with this trend.  I love my town because there are so many restaurant to choose from.  Here are just a few spots worth trying, vegetarian or not.

Baugmart’s have locations in Englewood and in Ridgewood, NJ.  When you go to eat here, bring cash or an AMEX because they don’t take Discover, Visa or Mastercard. The food is good but what I like is the pad thai.  You can get it mild or get it spicy. 
Me being the person that I am, I take it as spicy as they will give it to me.  After eating the spicy of the spicy, I can order an ice cream sundae to cool me down or even a milkshake. Check out their menu at www.baumgartscafe.com

Greek Cuisine

Moussaka anyone?  International cuisine is usually great for vegetarians because a lot of countries focus their meals around vegetables instead of meat.  Even though I go for the chicken souvlaki, my husband goes for the salmon and spinach in phyllo pastry.  He also eats the Greek fries with freshly made hummus.  Everyone knows that the Greek love their veggies and this restaurant captures that love.  From the Greek salad to the Greek Fries the grown ups and the kids can eat here.  The best thing here is the BAKLAVA!!!!  I love their baklava and could honestly eat an entire pan in a day.  They have many locations; Visit them at www.itsgreektome.com.
The Thai food here is bananas!!!! The vibe in this place is very “cozy” aka small.  Small quarters work at Kratiem because everything is small.  I love the tempura and suggest everyone vegetarian or not to try it.  Everyone I know that has tried Kratiem loves this place because there is so much to try.  It is not cheap but you can eat for $20 a person and leave full.  Find out more at www.kratiemthaicuisine.com
If you live near Englewood or visiting in the area, try these restaurants for good food.  They are all open for lunch and dinner and some of them let you eat outside.  I will keep eating and taking pictures and I encourage you to do the same.  Hit me with some of your local eats in Comments.
  1. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that
    I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access
    consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

