Not Just Tofu

A Cookbook for Your Collection

In Cooking Tips on June 30, 2010 at 4:18 am

You wouldn’t expect it but Marshalls, the retail chain, is a great place to find cookbooks.  You can find all kinds of cookbooks and one Sunday I was fortunate to find “The Vegetarian Bible”.  This book has helped me prepare meals for guest who were and were not vegetarians. 

 

I love several recipes in this book and would encourage every reader to hunt this book down.  On Amazon (www.amazon.com), you can find this book for as little as $2.00 used or $8.00 new. 

I recommend Caramalized Sweet Potatoes (pg 60); I give it 4 stars.  I served this dish at my son’s birthday dinner for his Grandparents and Godparents. I also love the Chili Tofu Tortillas (pg 98) that even if you don’t have the avocados they are great.  I made my version of this recipe spicy and that made it a hit.  The Artichoke and Pimento Flatbread (page 50) was prepared and served at a banquet I catered.  I could go on and on but I think you should try some.

I plan on trying one of many risotto recipes in the book this summer.  Alvin doesn’t like soft rice, but I think if I put enough asparagus or Parmesan cheese in it, he may just like it. 

Do any of you have this book?  Which recipe is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

