Not Just Tofu

Just Add Beans!

In Uncategorized on July 30, 2010 at 5:32 pm

I crave savory snacks more that sweet snacks.  The other day, I decided to test adding beans to some of my favorite savory snacks.  By adding canned beans, I am able to add fiber to something I love.  I once heard in a sermon that Americans do not eat enough fiber.  We actually only eat 30 to 40% of the daily fiber needed in our daily diet to help regulate our digestion.   Another reason to add beans to your diet is to help reduce how often you snack.  By adding beans to my snacks, I am increasing my fiber intake by 10- 20% and snacking with more lasting results than just carbs alone. 

As a vegetarian, beans are a staple of your diet.  If you are not a big bean lover, adding them to your favorite snacks may be the way to start.  What I really love is that I didn’t have to cook any of the ingredients.  All you will need to complete making these snacks are a cutting board, knife, grater and a mixing bowl.  First I took store bought salsa and added black bean and a couple of other ingredients to make it fresh.  The second recipe I added beans to was bruschetta; the blend of ripe tomatoes, basil, Parmesan cheese and beans is beautiful.  Using store bought basics will allow you to make these snacks whenever you want, so no craving goes unsatisfied.  So next time your friends come over to chill, whip up a batch of these healthy snacks.

Black Bean Salsa    

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of your favorite salsa
  • 1 can of corn rinsed
  • 1 can of black beans rinsed
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon of diced Jalepenos (optional)
  • Juice of ½ a lime

Recipe

  1. Combine the ingredients in a mixing bowl
  2. Eat

 

Bruschetta with Cannelini Beans  

Ingredients

  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes halved
  • 1 can of rinsed Cannelini  Beans
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of diced red onions
  • ½ cup of fresh chopped basil
  • 2 tablespoons of freshly grated Parmesan Cheese
  • ½ cup of bottled Italian Salad Dressing

Recipe

  1. Combine the ingredients in a mixing bowl and let sit for twenty minutes
  2. Eat with really good crusty bread

P.S.  I took these recipes to work to share with my coworkers, and let’s just say it went fast.

  1. This happy co-worker spent her day ‘ooo’ing and ‘ahhh’ing as I kept sneaking to sample more and more if the salsa and bruschetta. The fresh ingredients, accent of the spices, and the addition of the beans brought excellent flavor and texture. I am not much of a cook but I am very happy eater for all the dishes Sandra makes

Leave a Reply

