Not Just Tofu

Frozen Pasta Saves the Day

In Cooking Tips, Editorial, Food, pasta, Products, Recipe on August 20, 2010 at 5:56 am

Good One

Sometimes there is not enough time in the day to get dinner on the table by 6. On those busy days, I turn to frozen pasta. Last Friday, I stumbled upon a new techinque to cook frozen pasta.
In the search to cook something interesting, I went to Whole Foods and purchased a pound of fresh spinach pasta that I was going to dress in a garlic cream sauce. In my haste, I overcooked my pasta and was left with a pot full of cream sauce.

What should I do? What could I do? I dumped the spinach pasta and went to my freezer, pulled out a bag of frozen ricotta capellini and dumped it into my garlic cream sauce. Added some left over pot water to the cream sauce and let it cook for 7 minutes. Believe it or not it worked so well that my husband asked me to make it again Saturday night where my sister and cousin both commented that it was good and they are not vegetarians.

So next time your grocery store is having a sale on frozen pasta, pick up a few bags. You never know when you will need it to save the day.

  1. your blog is awesome!! keep up the good work. for us who have a passion for eating healthy and include alternatives, you make it easier with your ideas and great recipes.

    thank you, bj
    ps; do you have a website also? My wellness website Is
    http://www.makingwellnessconnections.com
    let”s keep in touch

    • Thank you so much for your compliment. The website is on it’s way and I will check your website out tonight.

Leave a Reply

