Not Just Tofu

Restaurant: Evergreen

In Englewood, Local Eats, Restaurant Experience on November 17, 2010 at 3:55 am

Most think that Greenline on Palisade Avenue in Englewood, NJ is the only place where a person can get fresh food fast.  Contrary to popular belief Evergreen has been offering fresh quality food in Englewood since 1995.  Evergreen’s logo is Fine Fresh Foods & Juice Bar.  I first learned of Evergreen while temping at a local communications company in 2000.  It wasn’t till visiting my favorite chocolatier, Matisse that I remembered this popular lunch spot.  Since then, everytime I want to treat myself to a $10 lunch, this is were I go.

What should vegetarians and meat-eaters order at Evergreen?  The roast vegetable foccacia with fresh Mozzarella cheese and Balsamic vinegar is the best vegetarian sandwich I have ever eaten.  For $6.50 you can have a quality sandwich that will fill you up without a doubt.  The sandwich consist of roasted onions, peppers, mushrooms and eggplant drizzled with quality Balsamic vinegar.  For a while, I haven’t been enjoying lunch because my taste buds where tired of the same hum drum options, but this has changed my mind about lunch. 

There are many vegetarian options like the Pesto Grilled Vegetable Panini, Veggie Burgers, Hummus Pitawich and of course salads.  I want to say that the next time I go to Evergreen I will try one of the other vegetarian options available to me, but just thinking about that sandwich makes me want one. The Capri which is a focaccia sandwich made with homemade Mozzarella cheese, house marinated sun dried tomatoes and fresh basil leaves with Balsamic vinagrette does sound tempting; it all depends on how I feel.

The other aspect of Evergreen that I am ready to try is the juice bar. They can boast that they are the only juice bar in Englewood.  They offer everything from organic wheat grass shots to strawberry and banana smoothies.  The drinks range from $2 for a fresh homeade lemonade to $6 for “Totally Green” (a combination of green apples, spinach, celery and cucumber juice).  Evergreen is more than sandwiches and salads they offer homemade Mozzarella cheese, sesame noodles and fruit salads.  They alsooffer catering packages for your next office party or get together. 

Evergreen is located at 260 Grand Avenue, Englewood, NJ and for more information visit them online at  www.evergreenfinefreshfoods.com

Leave a Reply

