Not Just Tofu

Article: Thanksgiving

In Editorial on November 27, 2010 at 11:29 pm

This Thanksgiving was a bit of a challenge for me because I did not cook.  Last Sunday, I unfortunately fell victim to Bell’s Palsy.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, it is a paralysis of one side of your face.  So after suffering from a great headache earlier that day, I couldn’t blink my right eye.  Minutes after that discovery, Alvin whisked me off to the emergency room.  After 2 anxiety attacks and a cat scan, I was diagnosed with Bell’s Palsy. 

With a leaning face, I sat on the side lines while Alvin took over Thanksgiving dinner.  We were able to have really good food but no vegetarian stars.  With no vegetarian star on the table, I started to wonder what do other vegetarians have on their Thanksgiving table?  What do my readers eat instead of turkey?  Are you guys eating “Tofurkey” (I got a free one from my grocery store)? Are you guys making mock turkey loaf?  Do you even try to imitate a turkey or do you turn to filling vegetables?  Alvin is a pescatarian so we had salmon on our tables, but you purist wouldn’t bother with that. 

With 2 more holidays around the corner, I want to redeem myself.  Unfortunately my taste buds have been altered due to this condition and will probably cause some other challenges but I am willing to try.  Over the next few weeks,  I want to invent or test new dishes that will out shine your Mom’s turkey, or your Grandma’s ham.   It may be challenging, but  it is possible.  Are you hungry?

Leave a Reply

