Not Just Tofu

Article: Cooking Class Recipes I

In Uncategorized on January 24, 2011 at 5:17 am

The last time I posted, I informed you of the cooking class that I was teaching.  I have to apologize to for giving you  such late notice.  This time around you have 5 weeks to prepare for the next cooking class to be held on Sunday, February 20th.  I love teaching these classes because it is a good opportunity for an exchange of information;  I am sharing what I know and those attending do the same.  On the 16th, I taught Asian-based dishes that were healthy and quick to make.  I believe that these may be some of my best recipes and I hope you enjoy.

 

RECIPE I

Vegetable Lo Mein     

Healthy Lo Mein

Ingredients

  • 1lb of whole wheat thin spaghetti, cooked
  • 1 carrot, julienned
  • 1 zucchini, julienned
  • 1 yellow squash, julienned
  • ½ cup of edamame (soy beans)
  • 2 stalks of scallion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp of grated ginger
  • 3 tbsp of low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp of sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp of vegetable stock, plus 2 tbsp for cornstarch
  • 1tbsp of cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp of canola oil
  • Pinch of Red Chile flakes (optional)
  • 

Instructions

  1. Heat large frying pan and oil
  2. Add garlic and ginger, heat till fragrant
  3. Add vegetables and stir fry (3 minutes)
  4. Mix soy sauce and 3tbsp of vegetable stock, add to vegetables
  5. Blend cornstarch and the remaining vegetable broth
  6. Quickly stir in the cornstarch mixture into the vegetable
  7. Once the sauce has thickened, add sesame oil and scallion, stirring constantly
  8. Combine noodles with vegetables and stir till coated and heated through

 

Leave a Reply

