Not Just Tofu

Better For You Dip

In Cookbooks, Editorial on February 10, 2011 at 11:15 pm

NJT is not only about vegetarian food but healthy food too.  How many times have you sat in front of a movie or game only to eat a bag of chips?  We know that salsa is a go to snack but if you are eating a bag of fried tortilla chips, you are doing your body a disservice.  You have tried crudite but let’s be real; veggies and dressing is not interesting.  What can you do?

I bought an eggplant and wanted to do something interesting with it.  I looked through a couple of cookbooks and found recipes for roast eggplant dip.  I was skeptical that this could taste good.  I mean most of us eat eggplant fried, smothered in cheese and sauce.  How can roasting it be delicious?  So I did it.

Roast Eggplant Dip

I chose the recipe from “Vegetarian Cooking -A Commonsense Guide”  published by Bay Books.  Surprise, surprise – I loved it!  I really do like it and can see myself eating a bowl of this with a few baked pita chips which are ten times better then eating chips and salsa.  Eating this dip comes without the guilt of French onion dip and chips.  

So the question has come to mind; What are you snacking on?  How good is it for you?  I was so inspired by the recipe that I started to dig down into my mind trying to create fun party food.  On February 20th I will be teaching Vegetarian Party Food cooking class and after the class, I will be posting the recipes for you to try at your next party.

Check out your cookbooks and challenge yourself to snack healthy.

Leave a Reply

