Not Just Tofu

Cookbook: The Veggie Burger

In Cookbooks, meat substitutes, Recipe on February 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Porcupine Ball

For most of you veggie burgers are the go to food in your transitional period.  How many veggie burgers have you eaten in the last month?  How many ways can you make a veggie burger?  If you can remember, my first blog post was about the veggie burger “Is my Boca Broken?” 

On one of my cookbook raids, I was fortunate enough to find “The Veggie Burger” published by MorningStar.  I think that is was very appropriate that  published a book about their top-selling item – Grillers. This book has over 50 recipes for your favorite veggie burger.  Recipes include burgers, salads, casseroles and more.

A few Sundays ago, I tested their recipe for porcupine balls.  Porcupine balls are a blend of crumbled veggie burgers, rice and seasoning molded into a meatball.  The recipe was accurate, I didn’t have to adjust anything for the burgers to come together.  I do suggest frying the recipe in a non-stick pan so that they won’t break up.  Were they a favorite?  Not really, maybe I am too much of a carnivore to appreciate a mock meatball but my husband didn’t mind.

Other recipes I can’t wait to try:

  • Portobello Mushroom and Onion Burger
  • Pollo Pomodoro Panini
  • Asian Style Lettuc Wraps
  • Vegan Veggie Burger Lasasna Rolls
  • Tex-mex Enchiladas
Leave a Reply

