Not Just Tofu

I AM BACK!!!

In Editorial on May 10, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Dear Readers,

OK, so I took longer than a month to get back on track.  I could give you excuses, but that wouldn’t help you or me.  With the 1 year anniversary of NOT JUST TOFU around the corner, I had to think of ways to improve on what I am already doing.  First I started with a new look, hence the new layout.  Even though the blog was getting hits and complements it did not relay the energy of the company; Yes, I said company.  NOT JUST TOFU is a registered company that provides services to its readers and community (please check out the service page).  I was encouraged to branch out after see how well the monthly cooking classes have been going.  Lastly, I tweaked the blog logo which is now ”  Eat to Live and NOT Live to Eat”which simply means that when we eat, we eat to better our lives not complicate them.  I am not saying that I won’t indulge every now and again,  but I have developed a healthy consciousness about eating.  What I eat should not be only taste good but be good for me. 

I know old eating habits are hard to break.  This from a person who has been fighting to lose weight for the last 8 years.  After having two kids and living 30 pounds over my ideal weight, I realize that there was no bouncing back for me.  The odd thing is that I don’t have high blood pressure, high cholesterol or diabetes.  I credit my lack of disease in spite of unwanted weight to my “under construction diet.” What does that mean?  Our bodies are like older buildings that don’t have all the bells and whistles.  What we do have is the ability to operate as well as newer buildings with renovations that keep us strong and sometimes even stronger than the newer buildings. By fortifying our diet with grains, beans, omega 3s and reducing our fats, sugars and processed foods we can keep going.  I truly believe that I will reach my ideal weight and be at my best while practicing these vegetarian principles and so can you.

So check out the new pages, recipes and interviews that I have been and still continue  to work on.  I hope to post twice a week with new information; for weekly updates, follow me on Facebook and Twitter.  Please don’t forget to subscribe to the blog. With your support I have been able to reach almost 4,000 readers in only one year. I am blown away by your interest in what little old me has to say.  If you are available this Sunday (5/15/11), please visit the monthly cooking class sponsored by the Community Seventh Day Adventist Church, 245 Tenafly Road, Englewood, NJ 07631 at 2:00pm.  Cost is just $5 which includes the demonstration with q&a, natural health spotlight, recipe newsletter and a tasting afterwards. 

Thanks for being patient and understanding.

Sincerely,

Sandra Calderon

  1. Glad to be back in touch. Looking forward to the next class. It came to mind after baking some cupcakes with spelt flower and everyone loving them. Would you be interested in my introducing them as a guest at one of your classes. I will share the recipe. They were very easy. Call me. Also, I will give you a free 20 minute Reiki.
    Peace & Much Love,
    Mamie

    • Hi Mamie,
      You were missed at our last class. This month’s class has not been decided on because of Father’s Day. I don’t teach the dessert portion of the class but I will ask is Sister Autry is open to your suggestion. Thank you for your offer for the Reiki, it is on my things to do list. Unfortunately, I have just been so busy between work and the kids that I haven’t carved out time for myself. Don’t forget about me, I will get there eventually.

      With great Thanks,
      Sandra

Leave a Reply

