Not Just Tofu

Restaurant: Sushi Anyone?

In Editorial, Restaurant Experience on June 14, 2011 at 12:29 am

Most people don’t think vegetarian when they think Sushi, but sushi is not only raw fish.  If you are a Pescatarian, this may be your go to fast food.  I recently visited Food for Life Sushi and Deli Bar in Englewood Cliffs, NJ.  I was intrigued by their name; Food for Life sounds healthy doesn’t it?  Food for Life is half deli selling the usual variety of sandwiches and salads, half sushi bar serving both raw and cooked sushi. 

Food for Life

As I looked at their menu, I became indecisive because of the options available for vegetarians.  I was pleased to see cooked sushi as an option because a lot of sushi bars only serve fish raw. I don’t eat shellfish and the kitchen was willing to customize their usual rolls without shellfish upon request.  As much of a foodie as I am, I just can’t get my mind around raw fish for some reason. I have been known to try a piece  of  my friend’s tuna roll but do not really find the appeal in raw fish.  Smoked salmon on the other hand is a favorite of mine and they makea roll with it.  Even with my love for lox, I still opted to try an all vegetable roll for only $3.25. 

Most vegetable rolls range from $3.00 to $3.25.  If you want a Philadelphia roll which has smoked salmon and cream cheese, it is only $4.50. On my next visit, I want to try the AAA Roll which has asparagus, avocado and cucumber.  All rolls come in  8 pieces, with the usual condiments of pickled ginger (yum) and wasabi. 

Food for Life is a vegetarian friendly establishment . Not only are the sushi rolls vegetarian friendly, they also have sandwiches, Paninis and wraps too.  To take it over the top they sale fresh juiced carrot juice and smoothies that range from $2.95 to $4.95.  Some of their smoothies include:

  • Caribbean Passion: passion fruit, mango, strawberry, peach, fresh squeezed orange juice
  • Tropical Tango (vegan): banana, mango, strawberry, fresh squeezed orange juice

So next time you are in the neighborhood for fresh, inexpensive sushi or smoothie, check out Food for Life located at 801 Anderson Avenue which is off of Sylvan Avenue in Englewood Cliffs, NJ 07624.

  1. I have eaten at :Food for Life in Englewood Cliffs. The resturant is clean and the food is excellent. I will add also that I ate in a Food For Life Resturant in Atlanta, Ga. In fact my gransons engagement luncheon was held there. I liked the food there as well.
    Let me know when you will have another food demo. I missed coming.
    Peace & Blessings
    Mamie

Leave a Reply

