Not Just Tofu

The Truth about Water

In Editorial on January 25, 2012 at 1:24 am

Feeling tired lately?  Trying to lose weight? Are you bloated?  Any of the 3 conditions can be related to dehydration.  How much water are you drinking?  Do you follow the 8 by 8 rule which is eight oz glasses of water 8 times a day? Maybe you are just tired of drinking plain water.  WelI I have done a bit of research for you to simplify and motivate you  to DRINK MORE WATER.

Ten years ago, I didn’t drink as much water as I drink now because it just didn’t taste good to me.  I am sure that is how many of you feel about water.  Water is neither sweet or sour; its taste can only be accurately described as water.  My first reason to increase my water intake was pregnancy.  While pregnant with my first son, I was always thirsty.  I never loved soda, I drank a lot of juice and iced tea but they are not suggested during pregnancy.  I started adding water to my day one glass at a time until I started drinking a gallon a day which you know led me to the bathroom.  At the end of my pregnancy, I was miserable from drinking so much water and having to use the bathroom every 20 to 30 minutes. After all was said and done, I became a water lover. 

How much water should you drink?  Some say 64 ounces of water but for men that may not be enough.  It is suggested that men drink 3 liters or 104 ounces.  Females should drink 2.2 liters or 72 ounces daily to prevent dehydration.  How do you know if you are dehydrated?  Symptoms include:

  • Consistent thirst
  • sleepiness/tiredness
  • Headache
  • Lack of tears when crying
  • Constipation

Drinking a gallon of water seems crazy to most and sometimes seems crazy to me but there are situations and conditions that you should drink a lot of water.  For instance, water is a great tool for losing weight.  Instead of drinking cups of coffee and cans of diet soda, drink water.  Drinking a glass of water before a meal makes you feel full.  Adding lemon to your water while eating a meal fools your taste buds into thinking that you are drinking juice without adding calories.  Drinking a class after a meal can cleanse your palette so that you don’t desire more food.  These are the tricks that I use to prevent me from gaining weight and help me in losing weight.

Maybe drinking water is just boring to you; there is more than one way to drink water.  I suggest drinking sparkling mineral water which is carbonated.  After reading many studies, the myths about carbonation are cleared up.  The popular belief is carbonation is bad for the bones.  Research has found that caffeine not carbonation is the culprit that robs the bones of calcium.  The bonus to drinking sparkling mineral water is often fortified with mineral which are good for your bones.  

Other reasons to drink sparkling mineral water:

  • comes lightly flavored without sugar
  • calorie free
  • contains essential minerals
  • provides calcium for lactose intolerant 

Have I convinced you to add water to your diet yet? If you can’t wrap your head around the concept, slowly dilute your way off of juices. Start mixing 50/50 beverages mixing 1:1 ratios of water to beverage.  This won’t work for soda but mixing juice nectar with sparking mineral waters can do the trick. It will also help kids to increase their water intake. 

Water is necessary for kids too.  My 9-year-old is a big drinker and can knock off 3 Snapples from the time he gets home (4pm) to dinner time if I don’t watch him. I became very aware of his lack of water when we went for a blood test and the blood didn’t flow through the tube into the needle.  I now buy mini bottle waters and pack them into his lunchbox and serve them with dinner. Now drinking water is not so bad.  My 5-year-old is another story.  Water out right is a no go but if I dilute his juice he slowly drinks it; at least it’s a start.

You don’t have to drink gallons of water to feel hydrated but you should make a mental note to add water to your day to avoid painful and annoying symptoms. I would just like to leave you with a few more ways to creative add water to your diet.

  1. Use herbal tea bags and lemon to make ice tea without the caffeine and sugar 
  2. Freeze fruit in ice cubes add them to your water for fun
  3. Drink water through a straw which makes most people drink quicker
  4. Add cucumbers which are an old school quencher
  5. Splash fruit nectar to make flavored water or natural soda with sparkling mineral water.
  1. So true, I notice such a difference in my focus and energy when I keep hydrated – and it seems to keep away headaches. And using a straw seems to make such a difference in actually drinking it too!

Leave a Reply

