Not Just Tofu

Product Review: Trader Joe’s Vegetable Masala Burger

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Yes I admit, I love shopping at Trader Joe’s.  Since making the decision to eat clean lables, I do 80% of my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s.  Every now and again I find a tasty product that tingles my tastebuds without breaking my budget.  This month I would like to introduce you Trader Joe’s Vegetable Masala Burger.” This is not your regular veggie burger, this burger has bite and it’s vegan.  With only a 15% sodium count per burger, it is acceptable for those fighting high blood pressure. The calorie count could be leaner at 120 calories and 70 of them coming from fat but if eaten in moderation it’s acceptable.

Nutritional Value

I have tried all types of veggie burger but the Morningstar Original Griller is my favorite. Grillers Original is nutritionally better for you with 130 calories per patty with 15g of protein and 6 grams of fat.  Vegetable Masala burgers only provide 2 grams of protein per patty because they are not soy based.  There are only 18 ingredients compared to the 31 ingredients of the Grillers which not all are from the ground.  These burgers are made of potatoes, carrots, green beans, ginger, breadcrumbs and traditional Indian spices.  The 2 questionable ingredients are cellulose gum which is used to stabilize proteins, add texture and retain moisture in processed food products and citric acid which is an organic acid/natural preservative used to add an acidic, or sour, taste to foods. After doing my brief research, I found that they are natural products found in almost everything and not harmful to the body especially because they are not absorbed by the body. Everything in moderation I always say.

How to prepare
The package suggest pan frying it or grillling it. I pan fry mine after 30 seconds in the microwave because I take them right from the freezer.  I fear that if I didn’t microwave it they would burn before the middle was cooked.  You can eat them on a bun or in a pita with spring green mix and your choice of condiment.  Whatever you do, don’t insult it by eatting it with ketchup!  You can’t eat them everyday but they are a good lunch in a pinch.  Next time you want to have a interesting burger try the Trader Joe Vegetable Masala Burger, your tastebuds will thank you.

  1. I haven’t eaten these in a while because I have been avoiding frozen prepared food because of the sodium and processed ingredients. Though, I do really like the unique taste these have. Admitedly, I do add catchup!

Leave a Reply

