Not Just Tofu

Detox Diet: Day 2

In Uncategorized on March 6, 2012 at 4:28 pm

   I don’t know if you guys are following me on Twitter or my Not Just Tofu Facebook page; I announced last week that I am going on a 14-day liver detox diet.  Last summer, I did a mild version of this diet which eliminated processed food, meats and dairy from my diet for 7 days.  This time around, I invited my husband and 2 of my girlfriends to join me and they all took the challenge.  The key word is challenge, because my husband is tempted to cheat while at work, my other girlfriend’s birthday occurs while she is on the diet and my other girlfriend is trying to get the activity portion amped up. 

Coming into this, I knew that breakfast would be my biggest challenge because I like to eat heavy in the morning.  Last year I made a smoothie with juice of 1/2 an orange, 2 bananas and 4 strawberries.  It was different to say the least but I drank/ate it, I think it was too thick due to the bananas.  Today I ate homemade lentil soup that I made last night and it is holding me better than the smoothie.  I was told I need to try the green smoothie but I believe in baby steps.  I have the avocado, kale, apples and parsley but I am building up the courage to actually drink it. 

My first snack was a bean dip made simply of white beans, lemon juice, garlic and olive oil.  The garlic made it spicy which really helped.  I ate it with half of bell pepper cut into strips and really enjoyed it.  It didn’t hold me long so I had to have lunch at noon and not my usual 1:00pm slot.  For lunch I had the biggest salad I have ever made for myself full of red leaf lettuce, shelled sunflower seeds, olives, bell peppers, tomatoes, carrots and cucumbers.  I put everything but the kitchen sink in there and it was filling. 

I guess the biggest challenge came with the afternoon snack.  I did take a grapefruit with me but was not in the mood for it.  Not knowing what I could snack on really had me over a barrel.  I would usually reach for crackers, pretzels or whatever was around the office but I went to grocery store and bought nut-based trail mix instead.  To be honest, I wasn’t in the mood for that either but it was what the diet allows.  Dinner was lentil soup but I made stir fry just in case the soup didn’t hold but it did.  I am surprised by what holds and what does not hold.  I get full on less than I think.  Not listening to my body may truly be the key downfall to my health. 

I have implemented other appetite suppressing tricks. I drink a lot of water, I mean A LOT of water which makes me feel full before and after I eat.  I look for high fiber foods that are supposed to keep you fuller over time.  I think my body has to learn to process food differently while on the detox so that it will be successful and have lasting effect on my eating habits overall. 

 What do I expect from my detox diet?

  1. I will lose the need to eat processed foods
  2. Teach me to listen to my body when it comes to hunger, thirst and rest
  3. Develop cravings for whole foods
  4. Jumpstart my weight lose

How many of you have ever been on a detox diet?

Yum Avocado Smoothie : - )

Leave a Reply

