Not Just Tofu

I Made Almond Milk

In Editorial on March 13, 2012 at 5:14 pm

When I started this detox, I knew I would not be able to eat eggs, meat, dairy, fried or processed foods and sugar.  This diet is truly a challenge for me personally.  I think the easiest transition has been breakfast.  I chose to eat oatmeal that I would sweeten with 100% maple syrup and bananas.  Let’s just say that after 5 days of eating the same thing, you don’t want to eat oatmeal for a while.

 

Usually when prepare oatmeal, instant or old-fashioned, I use milk.  Now that milk including soy milk is off-limits on a detox, I chose to go with almond milk.  I love good old fashion cow’s milk and drink it plain, can’t say that I would drink a class of almond milk that way but it was good enough for oatmeal.  What I didn’t know about almond milk is that it was so easy to make.

While grocery shopping, I picked up a container of almond milk only to find that it had an additive to stabilize its shelf life. Alarmed by the additive, I was going to research how to to do myself on “Youtube.”  Before I even got to it, I went to a workshop that provided tips on healthy eating.  It was at the workshop where they touched the negative aspects of cow’s milk and endorsed making almond milk.  The steps are really simple.

  1. Soak a cup of oats in 3 – 4 cups of water for a few hours.
  2. Place both soaked almonds and the water in a blender.
  3. Blend the almonds and water until the mixture becomes white like milk
  4. Strain the almond milk through a cheesecloth, sieve or nut bag.
  5. Flavor with real vanilla and sweeten with maple syrup if you like.

The finished product must be kept in the refrigerator and good for a few days.  You will have to shake it every time you use it because the water does separate from the nut milk.  My best tip, if you are using a sieve to strain the mixture, do it at least 3 times to get rid of the sediments.  It makes good oatmeal because it is creamy enough for texture and flavorful enough that it’s not flat.  After the detox will I continue to make and use almond milk? My honest answer is occasionally.  Why? Almond milk is nutrient rich in Vitamins A, D and E.  It is also rich in calcium which helps to maintain strong bones.

For more information visit: www.almondmilkbenefits.org

 

Leave a Reply

