Not Just Tofu

Baking 101: Cream Puffs and Eclairs

In Uncategorized on November 13, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Wonderful Surprise

My Monday started off pretty lousy. First I skipped breakfast trying to catch the early bus for school. Second, I missed the early bus which made me 30-minutes late for class. Lastly, when I got on campus I was STARVING. Learn from me kids, breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

Finally I got to class and to my surprise we were baking cream puffs and eclairs.  I, Sandra Calderon, can now bake cream puffs and eclairs from scratch.  Besides using over a dozen eggs to make the “Pâte à Choux, it was pretty simple.  Did you know that Bavarian cream is just whipped cream folded into pastry cream? You learn something new everyday. I love this class and NO I have not gained a pound eating everything my team bakes because I send it home with them.

I must be honest, the pics of my eclairs didn’t come out so nice.  I give credit to Lindsey and Megan for the beautiful cream puffs you see above.

Leave a Reply

