Not Just Tofu

My Baby has Type 1 Diabetes!

In Editorial on January 17, 2013 at 4:21 pm

My baby Lucas

My baby Lucas

It all started a little over a month ago.  Lucas was never was a big eater but I started to notice that he had a thirst that never seemed to be quenched.  The more he started to drink the less he wanted to eat.  I thought that the reason why he didn’t want to eat was because he had a loose tooth and a double one growing in at the same time which left his gums sore.  He had a little cough but nothing crazy so I never thought to take him to the doctor.

We were doing our usual Friday schedule when I pick up the boys from school, but he didn’t look as himself.  On Sabbath (Saturday) morning, he was out of it and I let him stay home with his dad with hopes that it would pass with some Advil because he complained of body aching.  When we returned from church, he didn’t want to eat.  Instead, Lucas took sips of liquid and slept off and on all afternoon.

It was 4 a.m. when my grandfather woke me up and told me that Lucas was throwing up.  He was so weak and tired.  I took him into our bed and between 4 a.m.  and 8 a.m. he threw up every bit of liquid he drank.  I finally decided it was time to go to the ER because when I looked at him, I didn’t recognize my child.  His eyes were so sunken in, he looked to have lost 10 lbs in a day. I had to pick him up just to get him to the car.

While Alvin stayed home with my 10-year-old, Lucas and I headed to the hospital with hopes of getting some answers.  In my mind I thought it might be Diabetes because I had seen a commercial from the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation that gave symptoms of juvenile diabetes but I didn’t want it to be.  I thought maybe it is just a virus and he was dehydrated.  I told the intake nurse that I thought he was dehydrated, she didn’t seem to take me seriously but I know my child. By the time the doctor came to see us, he took the pinch test and ordered an IV quickly because he was really, really dehydrated.

It was so hard to watch because he was so lifeless.  Was I too late? Did Alvin and I ignore the signs too long?  The nurse took a glucose test and his blood sugar measured at almost 1100 when it should be around 110.  He had a condition called ketoacidosis:  when cells don’t get the glucose they need for energy, your body begins to burn fat for energy, which produces ketones. Ketones are acids that build up in the blood and appear in the urine when your body doesn’t have enough insulin. High levels of ketones can poison the body. When levels get too high, you can develop diabetic ketoacidosis (American Diabetes Association). 

Long story short, he was started on insulin right away.  After monitoring the situation, the doctor transferred us to Hackensack Medical Center Pediatric Unit.  We stayed there for a few days while they figured out the his proper insulin dosage, I  learned how to take blood sugar test and give insulin.  In the future, I will be writing a lot about what I am learning about Diabetes and about my little champ.

I just want to say that Lucas is the BEST!!! He doesn’t cry, get mad or throw a tantrum when he has to get these shots all day long.  I love him so much. I thank God for saving and keeping him under His divine care. juvenile diabetes

Leave a Reply

