Not Just Tofu

Recipe Referral: Pioneer Woman’s Blackberry Cobbler

In Uncategorized on June 5, 2013 at 3:34 pm

I love watching Pioneer Woman on Food Network.  Ree Drummond makes her rural life look so appealing.  I especially love that her kids are foodies and seem to eat anything she puts on the table.  That life is so contrary to my suburban NJ lifestyle and my kids rarely eat my new recipes.  The appeal of her recipes has secured her a spot on my DVR and on Sunday mornings I indulge myself by watching back to back episodes.  One Sunday, Alvin and I watched Ree bake a cobbler but it did not look like that juicy gooey style cobbler that I was used to.  This was a blackberry cobbler that had a cake-like texture that made my husband say hmmm.  So I took note and the next thing you know I was making my own version.

At the time of this recipe, fresh blackberries were not in season. Since Alvin loves fresh blueberries, I took create license and substituted them for the blackberries.  I also am not the best baker even after taking my baking class, I still take the easy way out when I can.  So instead of using self-rising flour I used good old Bisquick baking mix.  Even after all the swapping, the dessert came out perfect.  I have tried to make the cobbler using canned peaches but that came out pretty mushy inside.  The next time I bake this cake-like cobbler I hope to use fresh peaches.  For all of you baking challenged dessert lovers, this is a recipe that you have to try.  Wish I had a picture, but it doesn’t last that long.

ree drummond

Ree Drummond

Click on the link below to try Ree’s original recipe:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/08/the_great_cobbl/

Leave a Reply

