Not Just Tofu

Recipe: Simple Swiss Chard Saute

In Cooking Tips, Food, Recipe, sides on June 14, 2013 at 12:37 am

Are you tired of eating spinach? Have you had your fill of kale? I know I was in search of another green fix.  I use leafy greens as a source of protein, antioxidants, calcium and iron since I am known not to eat enough of any group.  If you are a vegetarian, leafy greens are your best friend because they provide a great amount of protein along with beans.  In my research, I also found out that Swiss Chard is full of vitamin K. Vitamin K is good for muscle and bone growth which concerns me especially because of my Lupus.  Vitamin K is also essential for maintaining cell growth.  You can have a vitamin K deficiency but you can turn that around by adding vitamin k dense foods such as Swiss Chard, Spinach, Broccoli, Cauliflower and Kale.

So my question is, how many of you have tried Swiss Chard?  At the farmer’s market, I would pass this colorful stemmed bouquet because I never tasted it.  Finally at Trader Joe’s, they had a bag of washed and chopped rainbow Swiss Chard that look manageable. I thought “how hard can it be?”  Come to find out, it’s pretty simple.  A few cloves of garlic, lemon juice and you got a pretty tasty side. Lesson learned: don’t be afraid of new produce.

006Ingredients:

  • 1 Bag of Swiss Chard, chopped and watched
  • Juice of 1/2 of  lemon
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Recipe:

  1. Heat olive oil in saute pan
  2. Saute garlic until fragrant (make sure not to burn)
  3. Add Swiss Chard and saute
  4. Squeeze lemon juice over hot greens
  5. Season with salt and pepper
  6. Cook till tender to the bite
Leave a Reply

