Not Just Tofu

Taste Tested: Nutrition Bars

In Editorial, Food on July 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm

How many of you have found yourself so hungry and on the go that you will eat almost anything to kill the hunger?  I am one of the worst offenders.  It is crazy what you will do for your kids but not for yourself.  When you have babies you will pack multiple meals and forget to pack something for yourself.  Since Lucas has diabetes, I always keep snacks in the car for him and nothing for myself.  So I finally took my mother’s advice and started to carry granola bars in my bag.

As I was shopping in Whole Foods, I decided to check out nutrition bars.  Nutrition bars are not to be confused with power bars which can be very chalky and dry.  I was surprised to see the development and variety of nutrition bar over the last decade. So I decided on the much talkedd about Larabar, gluten-free  Kind bar and Luna bar created for women.

Image

Larabar: I chose the chocolate coconut chew flavor.  This was not my favorite. It looked so moist but taste so….well not so good. I think that if I were a die hard vegan, I would enjoy the texture, the natural sweetness made from dates and the dark chocolate which I really don’t like. I tried but I will not buy this again. I give this bar 1 star out of 4

kind bar

Kind Bar: I chose the Madagascar Vanilla Almond and this was a nice surprise.  It was like someone took my favorite nuts, mixed them with honey and vanilla and formed them into a bar.  I ate this before taking on my hour long hill hike and it held me. The texture is good, the taste is delightful and I would buy this again.  I gave this bar 3 out of 4 stars.

Luna Bar: OMG this was the BEST BAR EVER!!!! Why you ask?  I chose white chocolate and macadamia nut and I didn’t even feel that I was eating a nutrition bar. The chocolate was sweet but not excessive and enough nuts to make me decadent.  I love white chocolate and macadamia nut cookies and if the healthier version is a Luna Bar, I am ok with this.  Hint: don’t leave the bar in a hot car because the chocolate will melt.  I gave this bar of 4 out of 4 stars. Luna Bar

 

What I like about these bars is that they average $1.00 to $1.50 making it affordable to buy a bunch at a time.  All are gluten free which is great for a gluten sensitive system like myself.  Most are vegetarian and even vegan plus they come into so many variety that everyone can find what they like.  So never be hungry again; grab a bar and go.

  1. I personally like the Kind Bar, nice and chewy…feels like your eating something….haven’t tired Luna, but will now.

    • I will have to try the Luna bar. I usually shy away from nutritional snack bars because they never taste right! Lately I’ve been making my own trail mix as a go to snack. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

