Not Just Tofu

Recipe: Vegetarian Coconut Curry

In Cooking Tips, Entrees, Recipe on September 24, 2013 at 6:28 pm

001Being of West Indian descent, I am prone to love curry.  Since tasting Thai food, I have realized that not all curries are created equally.  Even among the West Indian islands there are different strengths of curry.  I have found that curry from the Trinidad is stronger than the curry that comes from Jamaica and Asian curry is more floral. Don’t get me wrong because all are delicious and I love them dearly but every now and again I crave Thai curry which is usually cooked with coconut milk. Something about coconut milk and curry that warms my soul.  This curry can be used with all proteins but this one includes a seitan product that Alvin buys from Veggie Heaven in Teaneck, NJ. I have made this with blue fish and whole porgies which is so yummy.  I also think that using TVP Chunks would be great, my doctor friend does it that way.  Please try this recipe and if you can, let me know how it comes out.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 inch of fresh ginger root, grated
  • 1 stalk of scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 package of setian or 1 cup of TVP Chunks
  • 1 tbsp of curry powder
  • 1 cup of canned coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp of low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp of oil
  • 1/2 cup of broccoli florets
  • 1 carrot, julienne
  • 1/2 cup of sliced red pepper (bell or Cubanelle)
  • 2 dried hot chilies
  • zest of a lime

Recipe

  1. Warm oil in frying pan over medium/high heat
  2. Brown and remove protein
  3. Saute shallots, garlic, ginger and scallions until fragrant (add oil if needed)
  4. Mix in curry, turn down fire and cook for 1 minute
  5. Add water and stir until because it becomes a thick paste
  6. Pour in coconut milk and soy sauce and add dried chilies
  7. Return the browned protein to the curry sauce and simmer for 10 minutes
  8. Mix in vegetables (carrots and broccoli) and cook until tender.
  9. Finish with zest of lime

Hint: Serve over Jasmine rice garnished with cilantro

Image 

  1. 4. Mix in Curry (Paste?) – I believe…

    • Hi Christina, I meant curry powder. I have never cooked with curry paste. In the West Indies, curry usually comes in powder form verses what is used in Asian curries. If a person was to use curry paste, how much do you recommend using?

  2. Yum! I was vaguely aware that north and south Indian cuisine was different and I wouldn’t touch Thai curry at all. After going to India and staying in the north with a south Indian family, I can say i’m converted to trying any (veg) curry I can get my hands on. I love Thai curry now after a friend made us a traditional curry with a hand made spice blend! I’m going to have to try this, I’ve been craving Thai. Thank you.

    • Hi, I hope this recipe meets your expectations. I usually use general curry or West Indian curry but I think any curry will work. Due to the type of curry you use you may have to use more or less, cook with that in mind. Let me know how it works out.

Leave a Reply

