Not Just Tofu

Almost Converted

In Cooking Tips, Editorial, Publications and Blogs on April 3, 2014 at 7:54 pm

MP900402511 Desperately in need of a garlic bagel with egg and turkey bacon, I gave into my cravings. I, Sandra Lee Smith Calderon, will never eat another bagel in my life. I felt so uncomfortable, I thought my stomach was going to explode. I’ve had bouts with Candida before but nothing like this. I was so bloated; my stomach didn’t ache but it wasn’t happy with the bagel.On another day, I gave into another craving for pistachio gelato. I love and I mean this in a literal sense, love pistachio gelato. Then my stomach started up again with bloating and this time with the gas. This gas was no ordinary gas. I’m sorry if this is too much for you but these are the real signs that you should listen to your body and not your appetite. Tempted every now again, I take a few spoonfuls of gelato only to have it cause havoc on my digestive system.

So what I have I almost converted too? I think I am going to live Gluten-Free /Dairy Free Diet. Early last year, I got tested for food allergies. It was determined that I was allergic to wheat, barley and rye.  It resulted in a cut back of how much gluten I ate. I don’t have Celiac disease; I classify it as a gluten sensitivity or intolerance.  Trust me this decision didn’t happen overnight, I have been contemplating this for a while. I wondered if I could give up bread, pizza and pasta. After my incident with the bagel and the after effects of my carb loaded breakfast, I don’t think I have a choice.

wheatAfter researching alternate diets which included vegan and Paleo, I decided that gluten-free would be best for me.  Having an autoimmune disease really sealed the deal because wheat causes inflammation.  With Lupus, the last thing I want are for my joints and muscles to be inflamed.  The dairy may be more of a challenge because of my love for cheese but over time I think I will get used to it.  It is important that when making a dietary change that you (1) don’t give yourself a hard time if you do give into temptation (2) for success you will need to find alternatives for the things you love so that you can make a permanent change.

A speaker I heard weeks ago said that if you could control your appetite you could control a lot more in your life. It was at that moment that I realized that I needed to make a change. So after countless hours of Youtube videos, cookbooks and blog reading, I am leaning more to gluten-free lifestyle. Sorry Paleo, more meat and less grain doesn’t sit well with me. On the bright side I still have french fries!

???????????????????????????????????????????????

 

For those of you interested in becoming gluten-free, check these out:

Leave a Reply

