Not Just Tofu

Recipe: Crispy Mock Fry Chicken

In comfort food, fried vegetarian food, Recipe on March 5, 2015 at 8:33 pm

WP_20141229_19_58_48_ProI don’t know if you remember that my husband is a vegetarian or that I have a community of friends that are vegetarian. Watching The Ellen Show one day, Chef Robert Martin demonstrated how to make vegan fry chicken. Thank goodness he recorded the recipe on his Youtube channel as The Official Hungry (www.youtube.com/watchv=gVMBOT6ch_Q).  So I went out the following weekend and I bought raw cashews for homemade cashew cream, the Gardein Scallopini, spring roll wrappers and the experimentation was on.  I followed the recipe but I knew it could be better. The recipe below has been customized with my tweaks that I think make it taste more like chicken. A chicken eater like myself would know more what chicken taste like than a vegan or vegetarian and I don’t know why but I find that important in translation for mock meats.  Maybe that is why I will never like tempeh; it never taste like any meat I know.

What did I do differently? Instead of cashew cream, I used the coconut milk in a can. West Indians use this type of milk to make rice and peas.  How is this different from the refrigerated version? It is creamier.  I also use this milk in my vegan cooking because it develops a better taste and helps keep cakes moist. Second difference, I season the scallopini patties.  Before molding them into chicken thighs shapes, I season them with seasoning salt, poultry seasoning, onion powder etc because good fry chicken is heavenly seasoned chicken. Lastly, I flour, wet then bread because that is how I would do real fry chicken. All these additional steps are so worth it because you end up with with pieces that look and taste like real chicken; then and only then is a vegan recipe successful.

CRISPY MOCK FRY CHICKEN

  • 1 Package of Gardein Scallopini
  • ! tsp of Seasoning Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
  • !/2 tsp Onion Powder
  • 1/2 Paprika Powder
  • Spring Roll Wrapper
  • Bowl of Warm Water
  • 1/2 Unsweetened Coconut Milk
  • 1 Cup of Flour
  • 2 Cups of Seasoned Panko Crumbs
  • 1 tsp of Tumeric
  • Pinch of salt

WP_20141229_20_11_24_Pro (2)

  1. Thaw Scallopini patties and mash them together.
  2. Season meat substitute with the first 6 spices on the list, mix well.
  3. Separate the mixture into four(4) equal pieces.
  4. Soak a spring roll wrapper in warm water till soft.
  5. Wrap each piece of mixture in wrapper and set aside (use spring roll method).
  6. Set up a breading station:
    1. flour seasoned with salt and pepper
    2. coconut milk
    3. panko crumbs seasoned with turmeric
  7. Dip into flour, then into coconut milk, finally into panko crumbs.
  8. Refrigerate for 30 minutes so the coating will adhere to the meat mixture.
  9. Heat oil in a deep fryer, or heavy bottom pan.
  10. Fry till brown on both sides and drain on paper towel.

For more of Chef Roberto Martin’s Recipes check out his cookbook:

vegancookingforcarnivores

Leave a Reply

