Not Just Tofu

Classic Poutine

In Uncategorized on December 16, 2015 at 3:25 am

So I have been to Canada a few times in my life and I have never had Poutine but it sounds good. It is like disco fries, another dish that I have never had, on drugs because it has cheese ( Yeah I know I’m from Jersey). Everything is better with cheese which is why I don’t think I will ever become a vegan. God would have to make me lactose intolerant for me to become vegan, so my hat is off to those who volunteer to live that life. I think I will make this dish the next time I go to Redbox and get some chic flix. Viva la Canada!

straight up veg

Okay, so I just have to say that while I’m calling this a “classic poutine”, I should point out that it is just probably as classic a poutine that a vegetarian can make. The traditional recipe, of course, calls for a meat based gravy, but doing that would defeat the purpose of my blog. My recipe still contains a rich, delicious vegetable broth gravy, double cooked crispy fries and quintessential cheese curds.

Feel free to listen to my country’s anthem as you prepare this amazingly delicious dish (aka the best late night food ever).

**Feel free to click on the red links for photo references**

Recipe makes approx. 2 servings (1.5 potatoes per person) 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 quart frying oil
  • 3 russet potatoes (peeling optional)
  • Salt
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp finely minced yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove, grated
  • 2-3 cups vegetable broth (I used my Mushroom-Vegetable Broth)
  • 2 tbsp…

View original post 284 more words

Leave a Reply

